Nostalgic

I’m feeling nostalgic.

I don’t care if it hurts
I want to have control
I want a perfect body
I want a perfect soul
I want you to notice
When I’m not around
You’re so f*****’ special
I wish I was special

I remember my ayah’s eyes bulging out of his sockets when I shouted out that particular line with the F word along with my stereo. Haha.

Today is the greatest
Day I’ve ever known
Can’t wait for tomorrow
I might not have that long
I’ll tear my heart out
Before I get out

No word. It was my Darjah 5 anthem, even before I was old enough to figure out the true meaning behind the song.

It ain’t no joke I’d like to buy the world a toke
And teach the world to sing in perfect harmony
And teach the world to snuff the fires and the liars
Hey I know it’s just a song but it’s spice for the recipe
This is a love attack I know it went out but it’s back
It’s just like any fad it retracts before impact
And just like fashion it’s a passion for the with it and hip
If you got the goods they’ll come and buy it just to stay in the clique

Reminded me of the time when she was still a family.

There’s something sweet
And almost kind
But he was mean and he was coarse and unrefined
And now he’s dear
And so I’m sure
I wonder why I didn’t see it there before

Being in an all-girls school had its effects on me. I started listening to Disney’s songs!

Are you wasting away in your skin
Are you missing the love of your kin
Drifting and floating and fading away

My favorite band never ceased to amaze me with this one slow rendition.

Talk to me — tell me your dreams
Am I in them?
Tell me your fears
Are you scared?
Tell me your stories
I’m not afraid of who you are

I wasn’t even sure if I was supposed/allowed to like this song at that time. The videoclip: raunchy. The lyrics: gaudy but honest. Has a certain pull to it once you ignore the breathy throaty sound. Yep.

I’m callin’ U
When all my goals, my very soul
Ain’t fallin’ through
I’m in need of U
The trust in my faith
My tears and my ways is drowning so
I cannot always show it
But don’t doubt my love

This ‘loser’ here kinda stole my song (yes, it is mine. Haha.). Husbands, if you ever feel that your love can’t be expressed in words, take the shortcut and just dedicate this song to your wife. Abeh citer. 

Ni bukan pertandingan teka lirik ye. But if you want to give it a shot, by all means, go ahead.
Nak balik rumah la pulak tiba-tiba.

6 thoughts on “Nostalgic

  1. random blog stalker says:

    creep – radiohead
    today – smashing pumpkins
    walking on the sun – smashmouth
    there must be something there that wasn’t there before (betul ke title tu? ke i’m just recalling random lyrics? lol – from beauty and the beast
    porcelain – rhcp
    the beast within – madonna
    callin’ u – outlandish

    usually i just lurk…tapi can’t resist a lyric challenge ;). keep writing – i find your posts equal parts thought provoking and entertaining.

  2. LaiLy says:

    random blog stalker: either your brain computes within the same wavelength as mine or you are an avid penghafal lirik: that was awesome. maybe we should have coffee sometimes 🙂

    and thank you, for reading 🙂

  3. ciss..I cant even recall any of the songs base on the lyrics given except for the last one which aku baru je tau wujudnye lagu neh last Sunday.

    So that you actually put a link on the “loser”, satu dunia dah tau sape loser tu skg..Nanti ko bali, aku masok sop selipar size 8 buat hadiah untuk ko for this ek…

  4. Yay!

    I knew most of the songs.

    I never listened to lyrics until two years ago. For some reason, I only actually listen to song lyrics when I’m feeling emotional.

    Thanks for the wishes and advice Laily. 🙂

  5. eddie: aku tau laa kalu tak aspalela ngan jaipong, lagu laen mana ko layan. as for the hadiah, blah laa ko. dari dulu kata nak blanje. sop kasot aku tamo, kasot nose size 5 aku maooo. bleh? 😀

    miss aida: i keep the ones i can identify with close, tak kisah la if they’re not even charttoppers.
    and no problem, Aida 🙂

    nodee: which ones, sweetie? i recommend all 6 songs since you’re of the legal age already 😛 gi laa youtube, apa lagi 😀

Leave a Reply

