Musically Inclined

Being the self-proclaimed geek that I am, I’ve been rotting away in my room (pretending to be studying) since last Friday listening to loads and loads of songs. Pop, rock, trance, reggae, oldies, you name it. I’ve put extra effort googling up Hot Billboard 100 and downloaded all the latest singles cause lately I’ve been feeling a bit ketinggalan zaman.

Hence, coming across this song: Over It, sung by Season 6 American Idol’s runner-up, Kat Mcphee.

Thats why
(your eyes)
I’m over it
(your smile)
I’m over it
(realize)
I’m over it
I’m over it
I’m over..
Wanting you,
to be wanting me.
No that ain’t no way to be.
How I feel, read my lips,
because I’m so over..
Moving on, its my time,
you never were a friend of mine.
Hurt at first, a little bit,
but now I’m so over.
I’m so over it..

I’m over your hands,
and I’m over your mouth.
Trying to drag me down,
and fill me with self-doubt.
ohh..

It’s supposed to be a song about getting over (duh) your crush (cause the guy seems to not reciprocate back her feelings, instead, he was screwing her head big time with his misguided charms. Hey, we’re free to intepret, right?). But from what I see, this girl is far from being ‘over it’.

If you’re over somebody, you won’t be crooning about his/her eyes, mouth, lips, hair, armpit, yadda yadda in a ballad song. That’s like saying stop the war while holding an M-16 in your hand.

So I’d strongly suggest adding a tag to the title of this song: Over It (Not!).

What happened to just setting that person’s face as your personal dartboard?

And I’ve been listening to oldies a bit too much lately, I’m getting too mellow for my own good :D. I’m so much in love with Aretha Franklin, especially R.E.S.P.E.C.T. and I Say A Little Prayer, Sister Sledge with their ingenious Celebration, Everly Brothers, Ben E. King, Beach Boys, Creedence Clearwater Revival, The Monkees, etc etc.

 
Cool hair 😀

Taa now ~

4 thoughts on “Musically Inclined

Leave a Reply

