An Ode to My Hero

I'm blogging from a CC when my IP provider practically steals 30 bucks from me each month. Not only does the connection in this CC is painfully slow, it's so stuffy hot n the front-desk girl is practically reproducing with her boyfriend on the very desk. Now that we've established that Ukrainian Internet Service is horrible, sucks, bongek, anything except positive adjectives are applicable here, let's proceed. I don't have much passion for anything Ukrainian right now :D. I wonder if I'd get reprimanded for writing like this.

Yesterday, I texted my brother so he could send me an extra CD installer for my laptop (yes, I reinstalled Windows and I don't know where I misplaced my driver CD. Yay, go me. :D) when he broke the news: his wedding will be this August. I knew it was coming, but the news still sounded surreal. It felt like yesterday when he broke my Barbie doll into two and I tossed his Thundercat into the drain. And now here he is, at 27, getting married. Sob.

I was a little esctatic nonetheless. He said, and I quoted. "Hang punya pasai laa aku kena buat bulan 8 ni. Seb baik lg aku x mkn megi pasai projek byk. Hantaran RM*****". I almost fainted. So I texted back: "Hang kawen anak raja ka? Biaq btoi weyh." You think weddings are about Tok Kadi, akad, pengantin, saksi, and you're wrong. Try adding kenduri, hantaran, baju pengantin, sewa dewan, catering, etc etc, and you'll get one heck of a headache just thinking about it. I think I'll just swear on celibacy. šŸ˜€

I was touched and flattered at the same time that Fendy was thoughtful enough to wait for my return, although I never insisted him to. I breathed a sigh of relief when he told me it will be held in a hall with catered food, takde laa aku mampus sgt balek summer nih :D. When asked about the theme colour, he answered: "Kaler maroon and gold, macam Dunhill." I laughed out loud. Leave it to my brother to compare his wedding to his box of cigarettes.

I guess, this tie would mean no more late-night cinemas, no more food hunting, no more trips to mandi sungai and no more racing wildly on the Gombak flyover. You're gonna be a married guy, bro. Tho picturing you with such responsibility is still funny, I wish you the best of luck. Now I happily hand clothes-ironing, dirty socks-hunting, comic books-arranging duties to your future wife. I think I may miss screaming my lungs off waking you up every morning tho. Just remember to visit home often, kay?

To you lovely readers, if you've got some time to spare on the 20th of August, 2006, why don't you circle my brother's wedding on the calendar? It will be held in the FRIM hall, other details, aku pon tatau lagi. šŸ˜€ I'll keep you updated tho.  

Alright, I think I have enough of watching the girl's boyfriend trying to find her larynx. šŸ˜€ I'll see you folks later.

6 thoughts on “An Ode to My Hero

  1. Sigh. Seriously takleh bayang bila one of my siblings nak kawin.

    The process of marriage is actually the point where your life and his life would be seperated. Even though you guys will meet often in functions and occasion, life won’t be the same anymore.

    Sigh lagi.

    Rasa sedih pulak tetiba, tapi of course you have to be happy kan, lepas ni nak dapat banyak niece.. ahaks.. jadi mak sedara yang berjaya la kak laily kita ek?

    My internet service provider ok je?

    P/s: I thanked you at my 2nd latest entry. šŸ™‚

    Thanks a lot Laily for introducing wordpress to me …

  2. naz says:

    I guess sometimes you half expect that your siblings stay at a stagnant age because that’s how you’ll always want to remember them. Then life takes a turn and everything is history…

    Although I don’t have any elder siblings about to get married tapi just thinking about it…. huwwaaaaa! Nak duk bawah ketiak mak sampai tua boleh x?

  3. yuni>> weyh, u’re highly expected to attend! ko kene bg bunga telur šŸ˜›

    lifeinside>> thank u for the credit šŸ˜€ yes, life’s taking its turn, n cant say im too esctatic abt it. but im happy for him, of course šŸ™‚

    naz>> eleh, i know u’re gonna get married next yr! jgn lupa bg kad to me keh? šŸ˜€

    miss aida>> my family has the luxury of time kot.. i feel for her tho. oh well. i missed my first bro’s wedding too. takpe mal, tunggu kak wawa kawen plak laa… takpon ko ke… šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

